What’s up for 2009

Another year has passed, and I’m thankful that I was able to live through this one without too many problems.  I’m happy to say that this year was quite uneventful and at the same time sad because there was nothing new to rave about in the world of anime and gaming; that is until later, and I mean later this year.  Being a hardcore anime fan I’m always on the lookout for some good anime titles that’re worth my time.  For the greater part of the year I thought I was going to be disappointed.  But lo and behold, just when things seems like it was going to be an otaku’s worst nightmares, a couple of good titles sprang up just this latter quarter of the year!

The first of these anime titles is Casshern Sins.  If you guys are familiar with the original Casshern back in the seventies then you’re going to love this new series.  It’s a dark series that takes place in a post apocalyptic world where robots are fighting to stay alive from a disease they call Ruin.  Ruin was triggered when Casshern killed Luna, the robot responsible for the welfare of all the other robots on the planet.  Being the only one immune to the Ruin, Casshern is now hunted by other robots who want to devour him hoping to gain immortality from the Ruin.  Now, like what I’ve said earlier, if you’ve seen and loved the original series, you’re definitely going to love this one with it’s dark and brooding atmosphere.  I’m not going into too much detail, but I will say that this is a worthwhile series to watch.

The next title is called Earl and Fairy, a shonen anime geared towards otakus who love watching pretty boy characters on screen.  This has the makings of a great series.  Good characters, solid storyline and of course an overload of shonen delight, now it can’t get any better than that.

Next up is some slice of life anime with Toradora, an anime set in your usual Japanese school setting and involves a group of friends who discover a lot of things about life, love and themselves.  It’s a good mix of romance and comedy for those who’s into Honey and Clover, Please Teacher and the likes.

 

For those mecha freaks we have Linebarrels of Iron, another masterpiece from the good people of GONZO.  Linebarrels got my attention because of it’s almost freaky similarity to Gundam SEED.  The storyline’s a bit tongue in cheek but that’s expected for a series that’s just starting.  Let’s just hope that we can see this series progress into a worth adversary to the Gundam series.

Then lastly there’s Tale of the Abyss for those fantasy fighters out there.  If you love MMORPG’s then you’re going to love this one because it’s based on an RPG game of the same title.  So, that’s it for the anime list, now let’s go to my list of some of the games I’ve enjoyed and the games that I will be looking forward to in 2009.

This year has been so-so for gaming, at least for me.  For pc games I’m deeply into WoW ( who isn’t into WoW these days) and with the release of the new expansion Wrath of the Lich King, I’m going to have more sleepless days ahead of me.  As always Blizzard never fails to deliver the goods, uping the level cap to 80 gives players more reasons and more gripes to take on quests and grind for insane hours, but who’s complaining?  When you have the first Hero Class introduced in the game, hey, I wouldn’t mind grinding for countless hours!  Of course with the introduction of a new WoW expansion comes new dungeons, new gear sets, new abilities plus many more!  If you want to learn more about WoW: Wrath of the Lich King, just head on to www.blizzard.com for more info!

I’m a big Gundam fan and I try to get my hands on anything related to gundam and this year two gundam games for the PSP made me happy that I owned a PSP.  Gundam Seed: Rengou vs. Zaft and Gundam vs. Gundam kept me busy at the office more than I wanted to.  It’s not the best mecha game out there, but if you’re a fan of Gundam then this title is worth checking out.

And finally there’s Final Fantasy Dissidia!  Now this game just rocks!  I mean where else can you find Cloud kicking Squall’s butt!  This is the first Final Fantasy fighting game, and I hope it’s not the last!  It’s not your regular fighting game in a good way.  Environments are fully interactive, the battle system is different but totally amazing!  Each player has a set of moves, but what will blow your mind is each character’s EX moves, or should we say limit break in the world of Final Fantasy!

All in all, it wasn’t too much of a disappointing year in terms of games and anime, and here’s to more great titles both in the world of gaming and anime!

Leave a Reply

