Philippine Independence

Let’s be real here, most Filipinos today don’t even know the value of Independence day anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I’m one of those people who don’t think much about Independence day as well, not until this Independence weekend. I was spending the weekend at the condo of one of my bandmates and, while surfing through the channels on the television came across the movie Jose Rizal on GMA 7. It starred Cesar Montano and a wide array of famous Filipino celebrities.

I never really enjoyed home grown movies but I found myself stuck and watching the story of Philippines’ National Hero. It was really weird because I was watching what I used to sleep on during my high school days. History was never one of my favorite subjects.

For the first time I guess, I saw the oppression we went through during the time of the Spaniards. It was also a treat to see Crisostomo Ibarra / Simoun come to life thanks to actor Joel Torre who did the character justice. There I saw the passion and frustrations of Jose Rizal while fighting to free us from the grips of the Spaniards.

It’s a shame that most, if not all Filipinos have forgotten what our forefathers did to get our Independence. Now I call on all Filipinos to once again fight for Independence, not from foreign oppression, not from outside threats, but Independence from our corrupt and greedy government officials. Too long have our country been in the jaws of leaders who only think of their welfare.

Too long have these officials enjoyed the good life at our expense. For us to be truly free, we need to change the system to a system that works not only for those who hold power, but for everyone. Let’s make our Independence day mean something again.

Leave a Reply

